A Defining Moment

“So how is that different from prose?” a poetry friend of mine often whispers to me at readings, with a mixture of bafflement and indignation. Although appreciative of both rhymed and unrhymed verse, he laments the decline of set rhythm and formal structures in poetry. For him, the rhythmic quality of poetry is its defining feature: remove that, and you might as well call anything – a short story, your diary entry, your shopping list – a “poem”.

I don’t always entirely agree with him, either about the particular poem we have just heard lacking rhythm (I often quote T.S. Eliot’s dictum about the importance of writing “in the sequence of the musical phrase, not in the sequence of the metronome”, but he doesn’t like Eliot much, either, so that doesn’t help) or about rhythm in general being the touchstone of poetry, but I do think he’s got a point. In both spoken word and “literary” poetry, while the removal of the straitjacket of established form has enabled a pioneering of new structures and an unfettered creativity in the best poets, it has also ushered in a certain amount of laziness and self-indulgence among their less talented peers (including, probably, me). I admire people who regularly submit to the discipline of a set formal structure and do it well, as I think it’s a lot harder than let-it-all-hang-out, anything-goes vers libre. I also value his contribution to that age-old debate: how do you define poetry?

When asked how I define it, I usually go for a fuzzy cop-out, along the lines of “a form of writing where how it has been said matters even more than the subject matter or where the language choices and devices form an integral part of the work’s meaning. If you can paraphrase it without losing something, it’s not a poem.” Mind you, even by that, you would have thought, catch-all standard, a lot of “poems” fall through the net. My two pet peeves at the moment are (1) piss-poor spoken word “poems” which are actually prosaic sociopolitical speeches or personal misery memoirs in disguise and which seem to attract an unmeritedly enthusiastic response from audiences because they sympathise with the subject matter, not because of the way it has been said, which isn’t interesting, at all. (2) “poems” in literary journals which are actually flash fiction pieces, randomly broken into short lines. There seems to be a craze at present in some quarters for pieces which have a strong narrative, told very concisely, with a surprising twisty-twist at the end. And those, apparently, are the only requirements. You can use the most banal, clicheed, tediously monoguous language you like, because it doesn’t matter – certain editors will still be all over your piece.

And, yes, I know I’m probably missing something in both these cases – possibly the primacy of performance skills, emotional impact and forging a relationship with your audience, in the former, and the narrative control and skill involved in what is not said in the latter.

People frequently tell me I am too wordy, that I work the language too much and that I stuff my poems to the seams with extravagant puns and (often mixed) metaphors like an embargo is about to come in and I have to create a stash while I can (see what I mean?). The watchwords for a lot of modern poetry are concision and precision. People who have been on proper creative writing courses keep telling me to “distil” or “condense”, “cut it right back”. Or, as that poem by Gösta Ågren (or perhaps it’s Tomas Transtromer???) that I can’t quite remember sort of says, scour off everything that’s extraneous, then the poem is finished. And I do see the value in that – a lot of modern poetry has the clean, minimalist elegance of sushi or expensive Scandinavian furniture and I can definitely admire that. I just can’t write it myself. And it makes me feel like I’m 15 again, back in my ‘O’ level English class, being made to do a boring precis, when I’d rather be doing “creative writing” or reading a book. I embroider, rather than whittle down. Does that make me a bad poet? Or is there room for fussy Victorian puddings, as well as sushi, on the poetic dinner table? Overstuffed fauteuils, as well as Carl Hansen chairs, in poetry’s front room?

I think, though, that we all have our own favourite Spice Girls in the poetic devices pop group. Hip-hop poets admire clever puns, ingenious multiple rhymes and fast rhythms; Craig Raine’s thing always used to be defamiliarisation (before he started writing embarrassing poems about how not being allowed to grope airline staff anymore is political correctness gone mad).

I have a particular weakness for ambiguity and I must admit, when I hear or read a poem which says one thing and one thing only, in utterly opaque language, without even the merest whiff of double entendre, subtext or symbolic alternative reading, I do sometimes think, “How is that different from prose?”

3 thoughts on “A Defining Moment

  1. Hi Melanie.

    Enjoyed your views, share your concerns.

    I feel ‘slam’ poetry and ‘creative writing’ courses have much to answer for. Good work needs to be able to be read off the page as well as aloud to an audience.

    Anyway, a pleasure to take a peek at your work today – here and at Clear Poietry.

    Cheers,

    Frank

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much, Frank. It’s really lovely when someone takes the time to tell me they enjoyed something I wrote and I hugely appreciate it.

      I think slams (and, even more so, spoken word generally) sometimes get an unnecessarily bad rap – I know many spoken word artists who are also published page poets and I, in any case, don’t think a spoken word poem necessarily has to work on the page to be good (in the same way that some good page poems don’t work read aloud – you have to see them written down to fully appreciate them)- it’s a different genre, with a different skillset, not necessarily a lower skillset. But there are some poems popular with slam audiences which are just plain terrible, by the standards of serious spoken word, not just by the standards of page poetry.

      Melanie x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve started to conclude that the problem lies with myself, perhaps and have contemplated a little what it is in my outlook that causes me to be so critical of so much contemporary work, and I think it is that I require (of myself, but also in my reading) a story structure. Old fashioned beginning, middle and end of some sort, whether in a long piece or short.

    I believe the reader is paramount and it’s my job to make the work comprehensible to them. It doesn’t have to be easy, but I want to ‘speak to’ my reader.

    Anyway, I’m a bit of a grumpy-bum when I encounter work that is seemingly self-centred to the point of exclusion of readers.

    Something like that.

    Cheers,

    Frank

    PS I’m nowhere near spoken word venues anymore, so I’m well out of the loop these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

